TSG Logo

Tri-State Grotto


of the National Speleological Society


Tri-State Grotto Home


Facebook Page

Membership Information
Officers
Meeting Information
Projects
Events

History of Tri-State Grotto
Publications
Stuff
Library
Newsletter
Gallery
Frequently Asked Questions
Caving Safety
Member Sites



Cave Locations

Caves in Maryland

Crystal Grottoes Cavern is the only show cave in the U.S. state of Maryland. The rooms along the tour are very tall and narrow. Most abound in formations, generally stalactites, flowstone, and columns. Crystal Grottoes is located in Boonsboro.
http://www.crystalgrottoescaverns.com/

Caves in Pennsylvania

Coral Caverns

Crystal Cave The lowest point Devil's den is 155 ft. below the earth's surface. The highest point in Crystal Cave is 65 ft. below the earth's surface, in an area that is correctly called "Lookout Point", due to a breathtaking view of 2/3 of the cave. Crystal Cavis located in Kutztown, PA  http://www.crystalcavepa.com/

Indian Caverns is a show cave in Spruce Creek, Pennsylvania, the second-largest cave in Pennsylvania. Indian Caverns consists of two sections: the "Historic Cave" and the "Giant's Hall". One room, the "Grotto of the Wah-Wah-Taysee", features a phosphorescent mineral deposit in the ceiling and walls, the cave also contains a "musical rock", which resounds with a bell-like tone when struck. is located in Hummelstown, PA  http://www.indiancaverns.com/

Laurel Caverns is located in Farmington, PA

Lincoln Caverns is located in Huntingdon, PA

Lost River Caverns is located in Hellertown, PA

Penn's Cave is located in Centre Hall, PA

Woodward Cave is located in Woodward, PA

Caves in Virginia

Crystal Caverns

Dixie Caverns is where experienced guides are eager to take you "up" into the mountain and then "down" underground, stopping to show the splendor that thousands of years has created. Dixie Caverns is located in Salem, VA  http://www.dixiecaverns.com/

Endless Caverns is located in New Market, VA

Grand Caverns formerly Weyer's cave is America's oldest show cave, where gigantic stalactites point down from above and stalagmites thrust upward from the caverns floor. Cathedral Hall, 280 feet long and over 70 feet high, is one of the largest rooms of any cavern in the Eastern United States. Massive columns, beautiful rippling flowstone, and rare "shield" formations create a variety of sights. Grand Caverns is located in Grottoes, VA  http://grandcaverns.com/

Luray Caverns has cathedral sized rooms with ceilings 10 stories high filled with towering stone columns and crystal clear pools of water. You can also hear the sounds of the world's only Stalacpipe Organ in Luray Caverns. The Great Stalacpipe Organ is an electrically actuated lithophone operated by a custom console that produces the tapping of ancient stalactites of varying sizes with solenoid-actuated rubber mallets in order to produce tones. The instrument's name was derived from the resemblance of the selected thirty-seven naturally formed stalactites to the pipework of a traditional pipe organ. Stalacpipe Organ. Luray Caverns is a U.S. Natural Landmark located in Luray, VA http://www.luraycaverns.com/

Shenandoah Caverns is located in Shenandoah Caverns, VA http://www.shenandoahcaverns.com/

Skyline Caverns http://www.skylinecaverns.com/

Caves in West Virginia

Lost World Caverns were registered as a National Natural Landmark, that "feature terraced pedestal-like stalagmites, flowstone, curtains, rimstone, domepits, and waterfalls." The "walking" tour section of the cave consists of a large chamber, (1000 feet long, 300 feet wide, 120 feet high) with many formations like the Bridal Veil, Goliath, Snowy Chandelier, Ice Cream Wall, Castle and the War Club. Lost World Caverns is located just outside of Lewisburg, West Virginia http://www.lostworldcaverns.com/

Organ Cave http://www.organcave.com/

Seneca Caverns is located in Riverton, WV http://www.senecacaverns.com/

Smoke Hole Caverns http://www.smokehole.com/caverns.html

 

The best way to find the locations of wild caves in these states is to join Tri-State Grotto.


FAQ Page

FAQ - Cave Locations
FAQ - Equipment Boy Scouts



TSG Logo

Copyright 1986-2015 - Tri-State Grotto
Please send any feedback, news, events, & photos to TriStateGrotto@gmail.com.
All Trademarks are property of their respective owners.


TSG Logo